The "Essential oils and clinical applications of aromatherapy" prize and grants

Each year, in the interest of improving treatment conditions for the most vulnerable patients, the Gattefossé Foundation awards the "Essential oils and clinical applications of aromatherapy" prize and grants to recognize and support medical establishments and initiatives.
Essential oils and clinical innovation prize -Gattefossé foundationThe prize, worth 10 000 €,  is awarded for an exemplary initiative advancing the use of essential oils as a complementary care strategy. It is given to a medical team and a French medical establishment whose scientific and clinical approach to the use of essential oils is backed by at least three years of experience and evidence of benefits to patients and their environment. Prizewinners may be public or private healthcare professionals or facilities that offer medical or paramedical services.
The grants, worth 5000 €, aim to promote more recent aromatherapy programmes—in any hospital department and any country—needing support to ensure their growth and longevity.  The objective of the Foundation is to provide new projects with the financial and human wherewithal to have a real effect over the long term. Each year the grants are awarded to two winners, which may be hospital departments and their teams, or projects.
The Steering Committee on Aromatherapy studies the applications and selects the winning medical establishments or initiatives according to predefined criteria.

→ Download the call for applications 2019 (French)PDF pictogram

Prizes and grants awarded by the Foundation since 2014


Video: Sophie Gattefossé-Moyrand presents the establishments who have been rewarded by the Foundation since 2014.
To learn more, download the press releases about each award below.

Winners of the Prize


2018 – Doctor Anne Moro, paediatric plastic surgeon in La Réunion

Read the Press Release (FR)

2017 – the Théophile de la Bretonnière residence in Saint-Julien de Concelles – Delphine Bienon, neuropsychologist and Thierry Podevin, pharmacist

Read the press release (FR) – See the video (FR)

2016 – the Valenciennes Hospital Center-  Dr Géraldine Gommez-Mazaingue, geriatrician.

Read the Press Release

2015 – the Colmar Civil Hospitals – Catherine Maranzana

Read the Press Release

2014 – the Saint-Nicolas d’Angers Hospital – Dr Hanane Besselièvre

Read the Press Release

Winners of the grants


2018 – The Marin Hospital of Hendaye (AP HP) and The public health institution (EPS) Barthélémy Durand

Read the Press Release (FR)

2017 – the UnASP of the University Hospitals of Strasbourg

Read the press release (FR)

2017 – AROVA association from Madagascar

Read the Press Release

2016 – Pierre Delaroche–Clisson Hospital

Read the Press Release